Pics from Trip to Gibraltar April 2017

At the end of April I went to London briefly and the next day to Gibraltar. These first 3 photos are my favorites. The coffee was good at the hotel in Gibraltar, the knotty trees up on the Rock were interesting, and the Moors and their castle were there before the British: A few from…

von Zieten, Hans Ernst Karl Graf–#AtoZChallenge “Z”

This gentleman helped Wellington meet his goal of defeating Napoleon (from Wikipedia): Hans Ernst Karl, Graf von Zieten (5 March 1770 – 3 May 1848) was an officer in the Prussian Army during the Napoleonic Wars. During the Waterloo Campaign of 1815, Lieutenant-General von Zieten commanded the Prussian I Corps. The corps fought a holding…

Young Wellington–#AtoZChallenge “Y”

Welcome to “Y” in the A to Z Challenge 2017. The 1st Duke of Wellington is my theme for this year’s Challenge. Source: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/art/art-news/10633535/Earliest-known-portrait-of-the-Duke-of-Wellington-to-be-exhibited-in-London.html Reprint of article on earliest picture of the Duke: He may have fought in some 60 battles during a long and distinguished military career, earning himself the nickname ‘Iron Duke’, but a…

Xaver Winterhalter, Franz–#AtoZChallenge “X”

Welcome to “X” in the A to Z Challenge 2017. The 1st Duke of Wellington is my theme for this year’s Challenge. Yes, this is really stretching it, but does anyone really care? I think not. A nice painting of the Duke with Sir Robert Peel by Franz Xaver Winterhalter (1805-1873) works for one who…

Waterloo, Battle of–#AtoZChallenge “W”

Another post from the Napoleon Guide on the Battle of Waterloo. To learn about the author, click HERE. By Richard Moore One of the most decisive battles of the Napoleonic Wars, Waterloo was fought in a small area (some 10km by 4km) on the main road leading south from Brussels. It was the first clash…

The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick

The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick William Morrow April 7, 2017 400 Pages From the publisher: “Captivating […] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love.” —Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel…