The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick

The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick

William Morrow

April 7, 2017

400 Pages

From the publisher:

“Captivating […] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love.” —Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story, waiting to be told…

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried—and failed—to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house’s history—especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls—and increasingly drawn to Stella’s enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden’s destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets…

My thoughts on The Forbidden Garden:

What a wonderful book by Ellen Herrick! Hard to describe, I would say this book is very rich. This book is to be read at a leisurely pace–there is no hurrying with The Forbidden Garden. Since I finished this book on a trip to London, I enjoyed immensely the arrival of Sorrel Sparrow to her British friends’ house in Chelsea and her introduction to her hosts’ family. Each family from both sides of the Atlantic have issues to overcome, and I think Ms. Herrick does a fine job in weaving this “magical” tale.

I had not read the previous book by Ms. Herrick entitled The Sparrow Sisters, so I felt I was missing something when I first began reading. I think the book does stand alone okay, but I dislike when an author writes about previous events from another book without clarifying everything at the get-go.

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Ellen Herrick:

Ellen Herrick was a publishing professional in New York City until she and her husband moved to London for a brief stint; they returned nearly twenty years later with three children (her own, it must be said). She now divides her time between Cambridge, Massachusetts, and a small town on Cape Cod very much like Granite Point.

Find out more about Ellen at her website and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

For my honest review, I received a free Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book.

  5 comments for “The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick

  1. hilarymb
    April 27, 2017 at 1:10 AM

    Hi Denise – I noted your comment … but the storyline sounds intriguing … plants, England, Shakespeare with some of New England for good measure … it’s now on my wish list – cheers Hilary

    • April 27, 2017 at 2:34 AM

      Hilary, I do think you would enjoy this book! Thanks, Denise 🙂

  2. April 27, 2017 at 5:44 AM

    Oh, I have THE SPARROW SISTERS, and had begun it. Now I must finish it so I can read Herrick’s latest. Thanks, Denise!

    • April 27, 2017 at 11:19 AM

      That’s great to hear, Martha!

  3. April 28, 2017 at 6:19 PM

    I’m looking forward to reading this one very soon – it looks like such a lovely read.

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

Comments are closed.