M Denise C

--lover of books, art, movies, and music

Waterloo, Battle of–#AtoZChallenge “W”

Another post from the Napoleon Guide on the Battle of Waterloo. To learn about the author, click HERE. By Richard Moore One of the most decisive battles of the Napoleonic Wars, Waterloo was fought in a small area (some 10km by 4km) on the main road leading south from Brussels. It was the first clash…

The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick

The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick William Morrow April 7, 2017 400 Pages From the publisher: “Captivating […] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love.” —Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel…

Velázquez, The Duke and Unexpected Treasures–#AtoZChallenge “V”

Remember my post on Joseph Bonaparte? This relates to that post. Enjoy! Reprinted from http://willkempartschool.com/the-water-seller-of-seville/ Discovering Velázquez, The Duke & Unexpected Treasures by WILL KEMP When Vanessa suggested a spot of Winter sun, if I’m honest, I dragged my feet. Locations where being proposed and I politely nodded. When she casually mentioned a possible trip to…

Uxbridge, Earl of (Henry Paget)–#AtoZChallenge “U”

Welcome to “U” in the A to Z Challenge 2017. The 1st Duke of Wellington is my theme for this year’s Challenge. Henry William Paget, better known as Lord Uxbridge, was made a general in the British army after the Battle of Waterloo.  Following is the text from a recent article in The Telegraph that explains…

Toulouse, Battle of–#AtoZChallenge “T”

Welcome to “T” in the A to Z Challenge 2017. The 1st Duke of Wellington is my theme for this year’s Challenge. From www.napoleonguide.com I found a short summary of the Battle of Toulouse, fought in April 1814 between Wellington and Marshal Soult (remember him from when I posted about the Duke as Marquess of…

St. Paul’s Cathedral–#AtoZChallenge “S”

Welcome to “S” in the A to Z Challenge 2017. The 1st Duke of Wellington is my theme for this year’s Challenge. St. Paul’s Cathedral is an Anglican cathedral in central London where the 1st Duke of Wellington was laid to rest in 1852. After a long funeral procession through the streets of London, his…