Category: book review

The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick

The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick William Morrow April 7, 2017 400 Pages From the publisher: “Captivating […] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love.” —Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel…

Walking the Nile by Levison Wood

Walking the Nile by Levison Wood Atlantic Monthly Press January 12, 2016 352 Pages A few weeks ago a friend and I went to hear a speaker at the Dallas Museum of Art named Levison Wood talk about his adventures in walking from the source of the Nile to the Mediterranean Sea. Knowing little about…

In This Grave Hour by Jacqueline Winspear

In This Grave Hour by Jacqueline Winspear Harper March 14, 2017 352 Pages From the publisher:  “A female investigator every bit as brainy and battle-hardened as Lisbeth Salander.” — Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air, on Maisie Dobbs Sunday, September 3rd, 1939. At the moment Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain broadcasts to the nation Britain’s declaration of…

A Piece of the World by Christina Baker Kline

A Piece of the World by Christina Baker Kline William Morrow February 21, 2017 320 Pages   From the publisher: “Graceful, moving and powerful.” –Michael Chabon, New York Times bestselling author of Moonglow From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the smash bestseller Orphan Train, a stunning and atmospheric novel of friendship, passion,…

The Runaway Midwife by Patricia Harman

The Runaway Midwife by Patricia Harman William Morrow: An Imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers January 2017 416 Pages From the publisher: Say “goodbye” to your old life, and “hello” to the life you’ve been waiting for… Midwife Clara Perry is accustomed to comforting her pregnant patients…calming fathers-to-be as they anxiously await the birth of their children…ensuring the babies…